JBEI Advisory Committee

JBEI’s Advisory Committee (AC) is comprised of strategic advisors from across the research spectrum including representatives from national labs, academia and industry. Reporting to JBEI’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO), the AC is responsible for strategic advice regarding research direction and vision. The AC meets as a whole annually to review the entire JBEI research program and provide a written evaluation report to JBEI’s Board of Directors and the CEO. Subgroups or individuals of the AC meet with individual JBEI researchers or teams of researchers as needed to advise on particular research. Industry representatives provide domain expertise to help direct research along paths that are the most promising to scale.

Jennifer Aurandt-Pilgrim

Director of Innovation and Market Development - Marquis Energy

Adam Bratis

National Renewable Energy Laboratory/The Center for Bioenergy Innovation

Luis Cascão Pereira


John Caupert

National Corn-to-Ethanol Research Center

Daniel Cullen

USDA Forest Service

Nathan deBoom

Permitting Manager / California Ethanol + Power

Paul Dupree

University of Cambridge

Benjamin Harvey

Department of the Navy

Vassily Hatzimanikatis

École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

C. Coleman Jones

General Motors

Roland Kalb


Charles L. Cooney

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Jan Leach

Colorado State University

Tim Lust

National Sorghum Producers

Steffen Mueller


Chris Rao

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign/Center for Advanced Bioenergy & Bioproducts Innovation

Lacey Samuels

University of British Columbia

Sean Simpson


Aaron Socha


Eric Steen


Sarah Teter


Steve Webb

Dow Agrosciences

Sang Yup Lee

Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology